Hello, I am Extra Credit

As a kid, I lived for extra credit.  If making a pinhole camera out of a shoebox, or fashioning a shrunken apple head version of George Washington Carver could boost my A to an A+, I was all over it.   Teachers pets of the world unite!  (Sorry, I get overexcited just thinking about pinhole cameras.)  So, it seems only  fitting that 30-odd years later, I actually had the opportunity to be a Human Extra Credit Project — a real live writer, brought in to to talk to my  friend Bridget’s eighth grade English class.  A hearty thank you, to Mrs. Hopgood for having me, and to Bridget, for making my geeky world complete.  And happy 13th birthday!!!

Bridget, the 13-year-old, introducing me.

My visit to South Meadow School. At 7:25 a.m. this morning. Gulp.

 

1 Comment

Filed under books, movies, YA, writing, teenage girls, young adult

One response to “Hello, I am Extra Credit

  1. I had an English teacher that gave extra credit. He gave me a lot, to the point where I wouldn’t have to do homework. And he let me carry it over from sophomore to junior year.

    I’ve been asked to speak about writing at a school recently, but that’s almost not relevant.

Leave a Reply

