On Dealing With Rejection: Chapter 2,742

Anyone who has ever achieved greatness will tell you they’ve had more failure than success.  That it’s not about the stuff that knocks you down, but your ability to get back up again.   That the winners in life are simply the ones who never quit.

And though these platitudes are true, they never seem to be enough to soothe me from the initial sting of rejection. One moment, I’m happily skipping along daydreaming of my impending triumphs.  The next, rejection catches me like a root in my path, sending me headlong into that murky trough of depression and self-doubt.

Over the years, I’ve found that the quickest and least painful way to pull myself from that post-rejection mire is to grab hold of a new idea.  A better idea.  An idea that fills my daydreams and makes me want to get up in the morning.  Much like falling in love with someone new is the quickest way to get over that last awful break-up, falling in love with a new idea with a new idea can really take the sting out of rejection.

Of course, there’s always the chance that this great new idea won’t hold up over time.  Or maybe it does, but over the months (or years) of hard work on said Dream Project, the rose that once smelled so sweet inevitably loses its bloom.

But there’s nothing like those first few pangs of infatuation with my new brilliant idea to help me forget about how those numbskulls failed to see the genius of my last brilliant idea.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “On Dealing With Rejection: Chapter 2,742

  1. So far I’ve lucked out and my projects have landed exactly where I wanted them to go. However, it’s spoiled me. Now that I’m venturing into the national market and starting the agent hunt, I know it’s going to be a rude awakening when they’re not all falling all over themselves to rep my book. And even though I know that, I know I’m still going to be totally unprepared when it happens. Blech. I like your solution for dealing with it, though. Falling in love with something new. Tucking that away in my mental file.

  2. So that’s why those who have so many great ideas have them! The more you put yourself out there, the more your bound to experience rejection and the more new ideas your bound to latch onto. In effect, rejection is the mother of invention!

Leave a Reply

