The Last Seven Books I Bought

Yesterday, on Presenting Lenore, the lovely and talented Lenore Appelhans revealed the last seven books she’d bought, and to my delight, REUNITED was on the list (as a pre-order, of course)!  So, I’ve decided to join in the fun and do it, too.  This was actually a bit harder than I thought, since I’ve been trying not to spend so much money on books.  Plus, I’ve been reading lots of ARCs lately, and my mom just passed along the incredible yet emotionally traumatizing Sarah’s Key (my current read), but here goes.

1) Croak by Gina Damico (well, technically, I haven’t bought it yet, but I will at her book party (woo hoo!) at the Burlington, MA Barnes & Noble next week).  I am soooooooo excited to read this!


2) Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty  At the suggestion of a friend, I bought this at Longfellow Books in Portland, ME two weeks ago.  It’s in the line-up on my nightstand, but I haven’t read it yet.

3) The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay My sister said it was a must-read & she was absolutely right.  What an incredible book.  Bryce Courtney is a genius.

4) An Abundance of Katherines by John Green  After reading Will Grayson, Will Grayson, I needed more John Green.  It’s in the line-up.


5) Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green, David Levithan  LOVED it! This is a book I want everyone to read, especially high school kids.


6) Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen A.C. Gaughen is such an amazing writer and even though I’d already read the ARC on Netgalley, I just had to own a copy myself.  In my humble opinion, Scarlet is one of the best female characters in all of YA lit.  I adore this book!


7) SWELL by Corwin Ericson.  Another one in the line-up.  (Plus, I bought two additional copies as gifts.) Cory is my friend Bethany’s brother & his book is getting lots of great buzz, especially around Boston.

1 Comment

Filed under book blog, books, movies, YA, writing, favorite books, young adult

One response to “The Last Seven Books I Bought

  1. LewEllyn Hallett

    Hilary, thanks for this list. None of these were on my radar, so i’m glad to know about some reads that are new and different from what I’ve been looking at lately (poetry!). And congratulations on your upcoming book release! I didn’t know you had that in the works but just watched the trailer and loved it! But of course you’d be really good at that.

Leave a Reply

